Gregory of Nazianzus on the Trinity

This Sunday is recognized by the Christian Church as Trinity Sunday. Here is one of my favorite quotes in thinking about the mystery of the Trinity, from one of the greatest theologians of the early church:

“This I give you to share, and to defend all your life, the one Godhead and power, found in the three in unit, and comprising the three separately; not unequal, in substances or natures, neither increased nor diminished by superiorities nor inferiorities; in every respect equal, in every respect the same; just as the beauty and the greatness of the heavens is one; the infinite conjunction of three infinite ones, each God when considered in himself; as the Father, so the Son; as the Son, so the Holy Spirit; the three one God when contemplated together; each God because consubstantial; one God because of the monarchia. No sooner do I conceive of the one than I am illumined by the splendor of the three; no sooner do I distinguish them than I am carried back to the one. When I think of anyone of the three I think of him as the whole, and my eyes are filled, and the greater part of what I am thinking escapes me. I cannot grasp the greatness of that one so as to attribute a greater greatness to the rest. When I contemplate the three together, I see but one torch, and cannot divide or measure out the undivided light.”

- Gregory Nazianzen, Orations 40.41, as quoted by Robert Letham, The Holy Trinity, 378

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gregory of Nazianzus on the Trinity

  1. JrRRr76 says:

    Thanks for leaving this quote – I had use for it and found it easily on Google. God bless! ;)

Leave a Reply

