John Bunyan on Justification

I have been reading with my friend Gabe through John Bunyan’s Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners, the spiritual autobiography of the author of The Pilgrim’s Progress. I came upon the free online edition through the Monergism website, which you can find here. This work deserves a much lengthier treatment, because it unfolds the violent, ongoing wrestling for assurance of the man we now know as such a spiritual giant. But in light of Reformation Sunday tomorrow and our celebration of justification by faith, I found this quote by Bunyan, when the truth of the Gospel finally and forever siezed him, to be particularly powerful. He makes this statement in light of Romans 3:21-26: 

“Now was I as one awakened out of some troublesome sleep and dream, and listening to this heavenly sentence, I was as if I had heard it thus expounded to me: Sinner, thou thinkest that because of thy sins and infirmities I cannot save thy soul, but behold My Son is by Me, and upon Him I look, and not on thee, and will deal with thee according as I am pleased with Him. At this I was greatly lightened in my mind, and made to understand that God could justify a sinner at any time; it was but His looking upon Christ, and imputing of His benefits to us, and the work was forthwith done. ” (258)

Amen! Happy Reformation Day!

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

