A Prayer for the New Year

One thing I have asked of the Lord,

that will I seek after:

that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,

to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord

and to inquire in his temple. (Psalm 27:4)

My prayer for the New Year is that the Lord would deliver me from superficial spirituality, from the deadly exchange of vital abiding with Christ for mere busy religious activity. That he would incline my heart away from its complacency and worldly desires, and give me a genuine longing the beauty of the Triune God: to glory in the fellowship of the Father through the work of the Son, in the power of the Spirit. No matter what failures or discouragements or trials come this year, if I can say at the end of 2009 that I have been able to gaze upon and be satisfied with the beauty of the Lord, it will be enough. It will be so much more than enough. May our own fainting and thirsting for Christ spill over to the hearts of our people, for their joy and for God’s glory. 

Happy New Year!

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Pastoral Ministry, Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

