Everlasting Love for Frail Children of Dust: The Gospel of Jesus in the Life of my Grand-Dad

The blog has fallen silent for the past few weeks, and one of the major reasons for this is the recent death of my grandfather. After a long and draining bout with congestive heart failure, Basil Smith Sr. went to be with the Lord on February 8, 2010, at the age of 87. In the sovereign kindness of my Father in Heaven, He has allowed me to live a short distance from my family, and I was able to walk closely alongside my grand-dad during his last few months, weeks, and days on this earth. It was also my honor to co-lead his funeral service with my grandparents’ pastor in Dyersburg, TN, where Grand-Dad spent most of his life working in the real estate business. I offered some reflections on his life and the Gospel of Christ from Psalm 103. The audio is below.

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.