Sunday Morning Comin’ Down

A nagging, exhausting fever has kept me inside the last several days, including this morning, rather than beginning Holy Week with my church, preaching on the Triumphal Entry of Jesus.

This probably should have set me to humbly thinking on the message of James 4:13-17. But to be honest, I felt so sad to be away from the church on Palm Sunday, all I could think about were the words of an uninspired author:

There aint nothing short of dyin’

half as lonesome as the sound

of a sleepin’ city sidewalk

and Sunday morning coming down.

Though Kris Kristofferson was apparently missing worship for something other than a fever, I think he’s onto something here. I had forgotten how truly sad a Sunday away from Christ’s church really is. The Lord’s Day is empty without hearing the Gospel alongside the redeemed people of God.

I can’t wait for Easter Sunday.

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.