The Why and How of Reading

One of the most helpful resources I have come across in studying the Bible and preparing sermons is a 56-minute I listened to for the first time in college by Peter Leithart, called “The Why and How of Reading.” This is not an overly-technical speech for insiders. In the lecture, Leithart gives simple but exceedingly practical and useful counsel on why reading is important, and even better, how we should read in order to get everything the author intended us to get from it. He refers to all types of literature throughout, but all of it applies to reading the Bible.

The counsel I received from Leithart in this lecture has literally never left me; I act on this counsel every time I prepare any sort of Bible lesson or sermon. I realize I am building this up pretty high, but I would encourage you to give it a listen.

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.