Biblical Manhood on the Ponderosa

My wife and I recently allowed our DirecTV account to play out, so we are relying exclusively on DVD’s when turning to small-screen entertainment. The other day, Candace saw a 34-episode DVD set of Bonanza in the $5 bin at the local Wal-Mart. Neither of us had ever watched the show much, but it was a western, it was produced before 1970, and it cost $5, so she knew the odds of me liking it were pretty high.

I collapsed on the couch this past Sunday, completely exhausted. We turned on Bonanza, fully expecting to be asleep before the theme song was finished. But before I knew it, I was riveted. Was the town really going to be overrun by thugs? Were the Cartwright boys going to be hanged for false charges? Would the Ponderosa fall into the hands of worthless men? I never got that nap. I barely was able to sleep that night.

We have watched several more episodes this week at the end of the day, and I have yet to be disappointed. This show has it all: white-knuckle suspense, adrenaline-pumping action, soul-stirring displays of courageous manhood, heart-warming family values. This just might be the best $5 we ever spent.

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.