Acknowledging every truth and every goodness

I am a committed Baptist, but in the past few days have received needed Christian encouragement from Methodists John and Charles Wesley, Anglican C.S. Lewis, and Presbyterian Sinclair Ferguson. I have significant differences with each of these brothers on matters such as church government and baptism; we would never plant a church together. But there is much more on which we agree, we will worship the Lord Jesus together for eternity, and their insights into biblical truth have helped me in incalculable ways to know and love Christ more deeply. For that I thank God. Here is a great quote from the Puritan Thomas Goodwin on the value of drawing from all the great Christian traditions as we follow after Christ:

“As for my part, this I say, and I say it with much integrity, I never yet took up party religion in the lump. For I have found by a long trial of such matters that there is some truth on all sides. I have found Gospel holiness where you would little think it to be, and so likewise truth. And I have learned this principle, which I hope I shall never lay down till I am swallowed up in immortality, and that is, to acknowledge every truth and every goodness wherever I find it.”

Quoted in James M. Gordon, Evangelical Spirituality (Eugene, OR: Wipf & Stock, 1991), 9.

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

