Like a stone out of the mud

Grace:

yet I am sure in my mind of one thing:

that before I was brought low,

I was like some great stone lying deep in mud,

until “He who is power” came

and “in his mercy” lifted me up.

Yes, that’s how it was, he did indeed raise me up,

for he placed me on the very top of the wall.

And so, because of that, I must shout out loud

“to the Lord in order to give back” some small thing

for all his gifts that are so great both here and in eternity.

The mere mind of man can never plumb such gifts as these.

Saint Patrick, Confessions, 12

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, Church History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Like a stone out of the mud

  1. Graham says:

    Great quotation! Will we ever fully understand His grace?
    Nice to see you back posting again! I thought we’d lost ya.

    Graham

Leave a Reply

