Update

It is a great relief that I am justified by faith in Jesus, and not by my faithful blogging.

Life has been full for the Smith family lately:

Yesterday, I preached my final sermon as pastor of Curve Baptist Church. I’m so grateful for the five years the Lord gave us to walk together. We have formed deep friendships here that we will still be enjoying a billion years from now in a New Creation.

On September 15, I will preach my first sermon as senior pastor of Sharon Baptist Church in Savannah, Tennessee. I’m both humbled and thrilled to be joining in the great work our Lord is already doing in and through this body of believers! 

Meanwhile, PhD work in the Biblical Spirituality program at Southern Seminary rolls on into its second year. I’m enrolled in two great seminars this fall: American Preaching and Biblical Foundations for Spirituality, plus a colloquium on Mysticism. I feel really privileged to be pursuing these studies. I am growing personally, enjoying my classmates immensely, and (I pray) becoming a more faithful guide for my people on the way of Life.

In recent days, I’ve used this blog primarily as a place to make the audio of my sermons available. As we enter this new season, I intend to also share more of what I am learning here. It will not be difficult to surpass my current output! Thanks to all who’ve stuck around.

In Jesus’ love,

Eric

About Eric Smith

Sinner saved by the grace of Jesus, husband of Candace, father of Coleman and Crockett, West Tennessean, pastor of Sharon Baptist Church, student at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Update

  1. Graham says:

    I’m sure the Curve Baptist Church will miss you and your family. I hope you’ll continue to post your sermons, they’ve certainly been a blessing to me.

    Psalm 20:4-5

  2. Eric Smith says:

    Thank you Graham! You not only get an award for sticking with this blog, but for enduring a high-pitched Southern accent to listen to expository preaching! You are an encouragement, brother. I pray all is well with you.

  3. Connie Ramsey says:

    Do you really believe in mysticism? I believe the Bible teaches against such. Am I wrong?

  4. Eric Smith says:

    Hey Connie!

    You are right, there are serious problems with mysticism. Mysticism essentially seeks to experience a relationship with God without keeping Scripture central in that relationship. The seminar I’m taking is not endorsing mysticism, but assessing its faithfulness to Scripture by reading some influential mystic works and then evaluating them according to the Bible. It’s been a really helpful study.

    Thanks a lot for reading!

  5. Connie Ramsey says:

    Jim and I pray for you and your family daily as the shepherd of our flock, for wisdom and steadfastness in what you know is right. It is wise to know the way the devil works and one of the ways he fools Christians is by the spiritual mystics who use some of the Scripture to suit their beliefs. I remember well the words of Adrian Rogers telling us to be “harmless as doves, but wise as serpents.” In a battle, one must know the ways of his enemy! You might very well have to lean on your study in this area one of these days in counseling someone.

  6. Eric Smith says:

    Thank you Connie! I am deeply grateful for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

